Are you an intermediary?

Intermediary site

Want to apply for a mortgage?

Apply

Already a customer?

Did you know your browser is out of date? It is strongly recommended that you use an alternative browser.

Do it Later x

Complaints

We do everything we can to make sure our customers get the best service, but sometimes we don't get everything right first time. Here you can find out how to make a complaint and see our latest complaints data.

In writing:

Please address your letter to:

FAO Customer Liaison
Kensington Mortgage Company Limited
PO Box 4760
Maidenhead
SL60 1HU

By telephone:

Please telephone us on:
Customer Services 0333 300 0921
Collections 0333 300 0920

By fax:

Please fax us on 0333 300 0923 

By email:

You can send an email to complaints@kmc.co.uk
Please note that we are unable to reply by email at this time.

Our procedure

We will endeavour to resolve your complaint immediately. Failing that, we will always aim to resolve your complaint within three business days of receipt and, if we are able to resolve your complaint, a letter (called a 'summary resolution communication') will be issued to you confirming the resolution.

If we cannot resolve your complaint within three business days of receipt, we will aim to respond within five business days of receipt, however, there may be situations where this timeframe cannot be met. In these situations a written acknowledgement will be sent as soon as practical.

Your complaint will be investigated by a dedicated complaints handling specialist whose responsibility is to investigate and resolve any problems that you are experiencing.

A Final Response will be provided within 8 weeks of the receipt of your complaint, which will include a full explanation of our findings. Should you be disappointed with the outcome of your complaint, you may refer the matter to the Financial Ombudsman Service whose role is to settle complaints between financial businesses and their customers.

The Financial Ombudsman Service

We hope to resolve your complaint to your satisfaction without reference to a third party. However, if you are not satisfied with our Final Response, you can write to the FOS at The Financial Ombudsman Service, Exchange Tower, London, E14 9SR. Alternatively, you can phone 0800 023 4567. Further helpful information can be obtained from visiting their website.

We are sorry that you have found cause for complaint but can assure you that Kensington is committed to resolving your complaint fairly and quickly. In most cases this can be done if you allow us to listen to your concerns, understand the problem and, where possible, deliver an effective solution to you.

Our latest complaints data

The table below shows information on the number of complaints received by Kensington Mortgage Company between 1 April 2017 to 30 September 2017 and how these complaints were resolved:

Complaints publication report

Firm Name: Kensington Mortgage Company Limited

Group (if applicable): N/A

Other firms included in this report (if any): N/A

Period covered in this report: 1 October 2017 to 31 March 2018

Brands/trading names covered: Kensington, Kensington Mortgage Company, Kensington Mortgages, KMC, New Street, New Street Mortgages

07067_KEN_NVG Timebank 3_Complaints Tables_KENS_v02

Payment Protection Insurance (PPI) Complaints

You can submit your PPI complaint by using the contact details above. To help us investigate your PPI complaint as effectively as possible, please read the information below and provide as many details as you can using the relevant form.

 

Please note: If you decide to make a complaint, you do not need to engage a claims management company (“CMC”) to do so on your behalf – a complaint raised directly by you will be investigated and responded to in the same way and timescales and you will not incur any fees or charges, which you would otherwise incur when engaging a CMC to act on your behalf.

 

PPI Mis-selling: If your complaint relates to being mis-sold a PPI policy that we sold directly to you (rather than by a broker or intermediary dealing with this on your behalf), please complete the PPI Mis-selling questionnaire form and send it to us.  As part of our investigation, we will also consider the non-disclosure of PPI commission, where applicable.

 

Please note: If the sale of your PPI policy was arranged by your broker or intermediary, they will be responsible for dealing with any PPI mis-selling complaint, therefore you should direct your complaint to them rather than to us. In the event you submit your PPI mis-selling complaint directly to us, we will forward the complaint to your broker or intermediary in the first instance for them to deal with. In the event your broker is no longer trading, we will refer you to the Financial Services Compensation Scheme (“FSCS”).

 

PPI Non-Disclosure of Commission (“Plevin”) Complaints

 

 When a PPI policy is sold in association with a loan or mortgage, the PPI provider (insurer) typically pays 'commission' to the lender, and the lender may pay part of that commission to the firm who arranged the sale (broker). In addition, the lender may have received on-going ‘profit share’ from the PPI provider in some circumstances. The money for this commission and profit-share would come out of the premium you paid for the PPI policy.

 

The Financial Conduct Authority (“FCA”) has introduced new rules that mean customers can complain that their lender earned a high level of commission (and profit share where applicable) from the sale of PPI policy associated with their loan, where this commission was not made clear by the lender when the policy was arranged (non-disclosure), thus creating an unfair relationship under s.140A of the Consumer Credit Act 1974.

 

The FCA’s rules provide that a 'high level of commission' arises where more than half (or greater than 50%) of what you paid for your PPI policy amounted to commission and / or profit share.

The new FCA complaint rules on the non-disclosure of PPI commission mean you can:

 

- complain to your lender on the grounds of the non-disclosure of commission even if PPI was not mis-sold, or you do not think it was mis-sold;

 

- raise such a complaint even if you had a PPI mis-selling complaint rejected in the past by the firm who sold the PPI policy to you (or by the FSCS if the firm was no longer trading).

 

If you have already complained about PPI mis-selling to another firm (or the FSCS) and had a refund of some or all of the money you paid for the PPI policy, we will not consider a complaint about the commission we may have earned. This is because, in this instance, there is no remaining loss that you need to be compensated for and you do not need to complain again.

 

Therefore if your complaint only relates to the non-disclosure of PPI commission (Plevin) (or if you previously complained about PPI mis-sale to another firm or the FSCS but your complaint was rejected), please complete the PPI non-disclosure commission complaint form and send it to us.

 

IMPORTANT: The FCA has set a deadline of 29 August 2019 for making a complaint about mis-sold PPI or non-disclosure of PPI commission. For complaints received after this date, customers will lose the right to have their complaint assessed by us, or the Financial Ombudsman Service.

 

 For more information regarding our PPI complaints process see our PPI Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ’s).

 

Alternatively, if you are unsure whether or not you have, or previously had, a PPI policy, you can simply complete the PPI Enquiry Form and send it to us and we will check our records for you.  If you require assistance in completing this form you can contact our customer services team on 0333 300 0921.

 

Should you require more general help and support, the FCA has launched an awareness campaign, and details can be found on their website at: www.fca.org.uk/ppi

 

Other sources of help and information can be found at:

 

Financial Ombudsman Service at: www.financial-ombudsman.org.uk

 

Money Advice Service at: www.moneyadviceservice.org.uk

 

Citizen’s Advice Bureau at: www.citizensadvice.org.uk

 

Financial Services Compensation Scheme:  www.fscs.org.uk

 

PPI Downloadable Forms

FileTypeSizeUploaded onDownload
PPI mis-selling complaint questionnaireDOC189.00 KB18 Jul, 2018 Download
PPI_Enquiry_FormPDF51.00 KB18 Jul, 2018 Download
PPI_Non-Disclosure of Commission Complaint FormPDF52.38 KB18 Jul, 2018 Download
KMC Website FAQPDF201.99 KB18 Jul, 2018 Download